How to use security features in Google Plus?


Google Plus is known for its security. When compared to many other social networking sites, Google Plus tops in security concerns of users. In this article, I discussed about how to use security features effectively in Google Plus.

Google Plus is known for its security features. Google Plus gives users total control over security features in their Google Plus account. Below are the few sections where you can edit your privacy settings.

Edit your personnel settings


Do you want to share your personnel information like Name, Gender, Education, Places lived, Occupation etc., details with only certain circles? You can do this by editing your profile.

Click edit in your profile to change which circles can view your personal information. If you want to make "Education" to visible only for your circles, click on Education, select "your circles" from the drop down menu and save it. Default, it will be set to "Anyone on the web" Now only people in your circles can see your Education details. You can also opt for not appearing in the search results.

Want to share post with only few friends?


Do you want to share your posts with only few of your best friends? You can do it by adding your best friends as a circle. Create a circle named "best friends". Add all your best friends to that circle. when we you want to post something only to your best friends, type your post, at the bottom select the circle named "best friends", de-select all other circles and share it. your post will only appear to "best friends" circle. you can check it by visiting your post. You can notice "Limited" besides your post.

you can send an email to the person from Google Plus. Just type the message you want to send and at the bottom type the email id of the person. If it is a Gmail id and if he is already in your account, his name will be selected. If it is not a Gmail account, email id will be selected. When you click on the share post, mail will be sent to the concerned id.

Do you want permanent link to your post?


If you are interested to share a link to your profile or if you want a permanent link to any post in your Google Plus, you can get a permanent link of the post by clicking on the time stamp of the post. Now, you can copy the url and you can share the url with any one. You can add the url to your profile.

you can directly link your profile. For example
+varun. you can do this by directly going to http://profiles.google.com/your googleplus profile name

Do you want to check how your profile looks to others?


You can check how your Google Plus profile looks to others. To do this go to the settings gear from there click on the settings. Go to Profile and Privacy. Under Google Profiles option, you will find "See how your profile looks to other users". Type a user name from different circles and you will be able to see how your information is shared according to the circles.

You can also do this in other way. Just go to your profiles, click on "edit profile". You can find "view profile" as option. Enter the name from different circles and see how your profile looks for others.

Apart this, you can control notifications, you can subscribe for SMS notifications. You can do this by visiting settings gear under that Google Plus settings.


Comments



  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name:
    Email: